Return to Headlines

ROISD Board approves 2024-2025 calendar similar to the current year

The Red Oak ISD School Board approved the 2024-2025 School Calendar recommended by administration, which is similar to the current year.

“We received excellent feedback on this year’s calendar and have found a balance between educational days to meet our academic needs along with strategically placed breaks for staff and students,” stated Superintendent Brenda Sanford. “We had staff, students, parents, and the community give input on the proposed calendar and over 91% of the 838 respondents said they love it (62%), it works (23%) or didn’t have an opinion (6%).”

Almost half of the school weeks are less than the traditional five days for a variety of reasons including holidays, staff development days, early release, and start and end days for each semester. In addition, we have 5.97 days of extra minutes built in for bad weather and emergencies.

ROISD continues to have travel conflicts with football in the fall, creating an early release/staff development day on November 8 which is also the designation for the Homecoming Day on October 18. Staff have the choice to attend the parade or have teacher independent planning time. Staff development on November 15 will assist with the expected playoff schedule. The use of district buses for travel conflicts with school dismissal for both the number of buses and drivers.

Parent Conferences will be held on Thursday, October 10 from 5-8 p.m. and Friday, October 11 from 8 a.m. to noon to accommodate working parents.

An added notation on the calendar is the early release for students in high school and middle school the last two days of the semester for final exams. Staff work the full day, but students are dismissed at 1 p.m. after lunch is provided. Elementary schools will have regularly scheduled days.

“After hearing from staff this year, we were very intentional about adding spring staff development days,” added Superintendent Sanford. “Some staff development time is for Teacher Independent Planning (TIP) while other days will have scheduled training. The goal is to have our educators have time to prepare so classroom time is bell-to-bell instruction.”

Calendar Dates:

Fall Semester

  • New Teacher/Exchange Days – August 2, 5
  • Staff Development – August 6-9, 12-13
  • First Day of School – Wednesday, August 14
  • Labor Day – Monday, September 2
  • Staff Development Day – Friday, September 20
  • District Holiday – Friday, September 27 (Fair Day 1)
  • Parent-Teacher Conference Day – October 10-11
  • District Holiday – Monday, October 14 (Columbus/Indigenous People/Fair Day 2)
  • Early Release/Staff Dev. (Homecoming) – Friday, October 18
  • Early Release/Staff Dev. – Friday, November 8
  • Staff Development Day – Friday, November 15
  • Thanksgiving Break – November 25-29
  • Secondary Students Early Release (Finals) – December 18-19
  • End of First Semester – Thursday, December 19
  • Winter Break – December 20-January 3

Spring Semester

  • Staff Development Day  – January 6-7
  • Start Second Semester – Wednesday, January 8
  • Martin Luther King Day – Monday, January 20
  • Staff Development Day – Friday, February 14
  • Presidents Day – Monday, February 17
  • Spring Break – March 10-14
  • Staff Development Day – Friday, April 4
  • Good Friday – Friday, April 18
  • Easter Holiday Observed – Monday, April 21
  • Secondary Students Early Release (Finals) – May 19-20
  • Last Day of School - Tuesday, May 20
  • Staff Development Day (Backup Weather Day2) – May 21-22
  • District Holiday – Friday, May 23
  • Memorial Day Holiday – Monday, May 26
  • Independence Day Holiday – Friday, July 4

24-25 calendar